mrtreat32

Sewing Clam Help.

New to leather working and ordered a vergez sewing clam. I chose that style of clamp because from pictures online it appeared to me like it would be more comfortable to use than the western style pony clamps. Before this I have never used either so I have no hands on experience with a stitching pony.

Also thought the angle would allow me to watch tv while sewing without obstructing the view! :rofl:

I have just started to work on my first few projects and Im fairly pleased with how my stitches are turing out for a beginner but the back side is looking a bit all over the place. Does anyone have any tips or pointers on using a sewing clam? The angle doesn't allow you to see the backside of the piece while you are working so its very hard to get the holes punched straight through. I know this style of clam has been around a long time and I believe Hermes uses this style so there must be some advantage to it. I would consider maybe cutting the bottom off a foot or so which would allow me to place it in a more vertical position.

Any tips or recommendations would be greatly appreciated

i've tried the way hermes workers stitch and its hard to stitch it properly with it sat on your lap. If you get it right that way its easier because you can easily see the front hole impressions.

I like the pony the best as I tried both, so I made my pony to fit me and the way I so, but my .02 is stitching and watching TV doesn't mix well at least for me as I saddle stitch most everything. Again just my .02. Good luck

For stitching in a chair.....you might want to look at a stitching pony or check out

grandpas pastime products. Google him.

New to leather working and ordered a vergez sewing clam. I chose that style of clamp because from pictures online it appeared to me like it would be more comfortable to use than the western style pony clamps. Before this I have never used either so I have no hands on experience with a stitching pony.