Maeve

New Spanish Ring technique (for me!)

I'm not sure if this is new to EVERYONE ... but it is new to me and I am SOOOOOO please and proud! I have 4 students that I am teaching to braid right now. One is exceptional in that she is a free thinker and analytical. I always find that making the flip in the last pass of the foundation of a Spanish Ring is a pain. And I do SO many a day that it gets frustrating at times. I learned from Gail Hought's book so it is her method that I teach my students. This one gal e-mailed me last night with this new method and I LOVE IT! She is a GENIUS! She came up with a way of weaving the working string through the foundation on the last cross whereas all you need to do is POP the string into position! Does anyone else do this? It makes life SO much easier! :D Recently I was brutally chastised for making the comment that, as a teacher, I learn a LOT from my students. This person asked just what in the heck could I ever learn from beginners! Well ...... this is the most amazing thing that I have learned in a while and it came from a two-month braider! I still stand by the fact that you CAN learn from your students! :D I did about 6 Spanish Rings tonight and it was just so easy! Sigh .... another one of those "Why didn't *I* think of that?" moments! LOL! I'm just so proud of this student for thinking outside of the box and sharing her learning with ME!

Love and light,

Maeve

Edited by Maeve

Might be even more interesting if there were either pics or a video to see what you're talking about. I think I know what you're describing as the technique but I am not sure, if you know what I mean?

:coffeecomp: