chriscraft

New To Bike Seats

So I took the plunge and went out and purchased a nice sewing machine for my leather seats. My tooling has improved and still getting better with every hour spent swinging the maul. Just wanted to post this latest seat build as I'm having trouble finding similar tooling. It's a vintage pin-up style Girl. The face is only 3/4" so it's difficult to get good detail. I'm self taught so I'm sure I'll find a way. What's everyone else doing when tooling small faces? Chris

post-38453-0-74172900-1372261404_thumb.j

I have nothing to offer in terms of help, but that tooling is ouit of this world! Well done!

looks great man

Thanks, the guy that I'm making this seat for decided he wants it black. So here it is, just finished it 30 minutes ago.

post-38453-0-69599800-1372281451_thumb.j

THAT LOOKS GREAT! DYE IT LACE IT CALL IT A DAY!

That is great looking, I would have loved to seen it dyed and antiqued I think it would have reqlly popped, but the customer rules. It is an excellent looking seat in black also. Good work

David

Yeah I wanted to try that antiqued look but I'm still new at this and its difficult to convince others when you haven't done it yet. In the next few weeks I'll have to make one for myself and try that. I've always liked the pin-up style art and hope to do more of it on leather. Thanks for the kind words, it's only my second seat and the first I've sold.

Looks great, can you post a picture of the molding block you used to form the leather/

Looks great, can you post a picture of the molding block you used to form the leather/

Molding Block, you mean you don't have one of these leather egg plants in your garden......lol

post-38453-0-52116900-1372467399_thumb.j

Okay, here's my molding form. . I found this scrap hardwood table top that looks to be made out of maple. I topped it with a few coats of SPAR polyurethane finish and hope It will last me a while. What are you using?

post-38453-0-70309600-1372476996_thumb.j