kc1200r

Singer 281-22 Needle Feed - Reverse? 5/6 Oz Chaps Leather?

Hello. A newbie here, looking for a versatile sewing machine that can handle a wide variety of outdoor materials, from lightweight silnylon to heavy cordura nylon, and canvas, and up to some degree of soft leather.

Through some other posts, it looks like a Singer 281-22 needlefeed would pretty much fit at least most of that bill.

I found a manual that covered several machines in the 281 series. It doesn't mention reverse.

Do those machines have reverse? If not, anyone know how that operation was intended to be done in a production setting? Was the fabric just rotated, or was it maybe assumed the machines would be run on 3-phase AC motors with their ability to run in reverse?

Also, would the 281-22 have the capability to sew two layers of 5/6 oz chrome tanned or deer tanned cowhide in a lap seam? ( I don't know if there is a more standard term for deer tanned cowhide...)

Hoping wizcrafts or gottaknow will have an interest in the question. :)

Thanks,

Lee

I think I would suggest getting a quality older "home" machine to do the delicate stuff like silnylon, oxford cloth and all the thinner materials, unless you already have the 281 and you need to sew 300mph forward only. Then if you still can use a machine with no reverse, look for a bargain on something like a singer 111w155 for everything else.

I have a very similar Singer 251-21 (no needle feed) that I use for a dedicated binder on lots of relatively heavy cordura projects myself. I did put a servo on it as well. The amazing number of accessories and attachments, plus the spare parts *everywhere* does make this series pretty versatile, so if you don't need reverse the price is usually pretty attractive on these machines. There are feed dog/needle plate combos for virtually any sort of fabric out there. Myself, I'm looking for a #140257 feed eccentric stop screw for my 251 to give it the 5-1/2 stitch per inch option.

-DC

Edited by SARK9