Sign in to follow this  
bluepenguin

Using a stitching awl

Hey everyone! I'm fairly new to leatherwork, and I'm getting to be proficient with tooling, dyeing, etc, but when it comes to actually constructing anything, I'm lost. So I picked up a bunch of Al Stohlman's books, and I've been doing a lot of reading and practicing. My problem, though, is this. When I'm using a stitching awl, after I've gouged a sewing channel and all that, it takes a major effort to get the awl blade to go through the leather. As in, I can't make it happen. Obviously I must be missing something, but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

What weight leathers are you sewing, and how well do you sharpen your awl? Do you have a stitching pony or something you use to free up your hands? What kind of awl do you prefer, and are you able to pierce the leather on at least one side in one smooth move? Hey, I don't have any answers, but there are lots of folks here who do. Give them something to work with!

Welcome to leatherworker.net, there are some great people here, and we hope you enjoy yourself.

Johanna

B.P.,

I don't know about the other folks here, but I've never been able to put my project in a stitching pony and just "go to town" with two needles and an awl balanced in my hands (like the books say). My leather is usually too thick or too hard (post-dyeing) to do it.

What I do is this:

I set the project flat on my workbench. I use an overstitcher to mark an evenly-spaced set of holes. Then I strike the awl with a mallet to create my stitching holes. (Don't do this on your kitchen table without some sort of cutting pad underneath! :biggrin: ) After making the holes, then I gouge the stitching channel. Probably not the fastest way to do it, but it works for me.

BTW, I was always embarrassed to admit I did things this way until an older (and very respected) leatherworker with arthritis in his hands told me he had to do it the same way...