I am new to using a sewing machine, I make leather holsters and have been doing them by hand. Due to arthritis problems I bought a PFAFF 1245 color is white, I have tried to use #207 on top and #138 or #92 on the bobbin, my problem is no matter what thread I use on top it keeps breaking or bunching up at the needle. The machine has a servo motor so I am going very slow, when it is not breaking the thread the stitch is very good the timing seems fine. I sew 7-8 oz. leather veg/tanned. When I go in reverse the top thread breaks right away. If any one could give me some advise it would greatly appreciated.

I am new to using a sewing machine, I make leather holsters and have been doing them by hand. Due to arthritis problems I bought a PFAFF 1245 color is white, I have tried to use #207 on top and #138 or #92 on the bobbin, my problem is no matter what thread I use on top it keeps breaking or bunching up at the needle. The machine has a servo motor so I am going very slow, when it is not breaking the thread the stitch is very good the timing seems fine. I sew 7-8 oz. leather veg/tanned. When I go in reverse the top thread breaks right away. If any one could give me some advise it would greatly appreciated.

Are you matching needle and thread size? Here is a chart http://www.tolindsewmach.com/thread-chart.html

Is the needle in the right direction, and threaded from the correct side? Thread should enter on the side of the needle with the long groove.

Tom

Edited by northmount

Double check your tension settings.

Remember: Your stitch is only as strong as the "Least" of your thread.

ferg