Sign in to follow this  
samcolt45

Books Regarding Holster Making, Carving/tooling

After being away from leatherworking for more than 20 years, I've decided to get back into it as a form of sanity maintenance. (At present, the jury is still dilberating as to whether I made the right decision.)

As a firearm journalist by profession, my primary interest in leatherworking is making holsters. In addition, part of my interest stems from my disability. Being wheelchair bound, most of the strong-side holsters I've reviewed, don't suit someone like me who's contantly seated.

Since there don't seem to be any leatherworking classes in my area, I've had to rely primarily on how-to books and Internet forums, tutorials/videos for guidence. Despite a lack of strength and fine-motor skills due to both my disability and arthitus, I'm having fun and, in the end I suspose that's all that matters

With the long-but-necessary back story out of the way, I'm curious to know if there are any really good books you can recommend on either the subject of holster making or carving/tooling? I say "really good," because I've come across some books, such as Al Stoehlman's "How To Make Holsters" lacking with regard to detailed explanation.

I'm also been entertaining the idea of trying my hand at tooling. Given my unique set of circumstances, however, I'm uncertain about it. Nonetheless, my hope is that there are some others out there, who, while they may or no share a physical disability, may also rely on similar instruction venue for their instruction, enough to recommend some must-have books on making holsters—including a introduction to carving/tooling so I can undertand the process, in order to determine if it's something I'd like to pursue.

Thanks,

Bob Boyd

Hello Bob,

Sorry you didn't get any replies sooner, and thanks for all the background info. Hopefully you're still "there", so my comments might be of use.