Django57

Sewing Leather To Cotton ?

Hi i want to attach two leather straps with buckles to a old Barbour jacket either side. I've lost some weight and the jacket is far too big for me , the idea is to pull the sides and back in round the waist at the rear. I was thinking of hand sewing them , is there anything i need to consider, i'm new at sewing and only know the saddle stitch technique, just wondered if i need to reinforce with a piece of leather on the inside . I don't have any photos to explain what i mean so i apologize if i haven't explained myself well .

Without the picture is really something hard to understand. If the strap is not just for decoration you should sew a thin piece of leather from inside it. You can do well with saddle stitching. It should perhaps also be a double seam to have a larger area for the stress. I hope this helps. Otherwise you'd have to make a sketch.

Is the strap to cinch it in a little around the middle, like a belt back on a waistcoat? Won't need anything too elaborate or duty. Two light 3/4" straps and a suitable buckle will do fine. Habicht males a good point about adding small leather patches inside.

Rember that wax cotton won't glue if you don't strip the affected area with solvent first.

Thanks matt , the idea was to attach (if you can imagine) a watch strap set up about 6' below the arm pit on either side , stitch each bit and then i could adjust as necessary but the more i think about it with only having harness needles and a diamond awl might go for Chicago studs and screw the leather to the coat , what do you think ?

Sorry Habicht just saw your post i've searched for a photo to explain but couldn't find one of the rear this is a link but i don't know if it will work

http://www.stuartslondon.com/coats-jackets-c23/jackets-c25/oliver-spencer-military-byron-olive-jacket-osj181a-p5058

Edited by Django57