LeatherCaptain

Bench Mounted Snap Press

Hello,

I'm back to the well for answers...

Can anyone recommend a quality bench mounted snap press that's a good value for setting 24 ligne snaps onto 7/8 oz. leather? I don't process a ton of work so an automated machine is completely out of the budget. I'm mainly looking for recommendations from anyone who uses one. Are certain dies better than others? I believe there are screw in dies and snap in dies, maybe? What about throat depth?

Does this look like a good option?

http://sewtrue.com/Store/Automatic-Handpress-Snap-Machine-P507.html

Thanks!

Edited by LeatherCaptain

It looks like it might work, however, the handle pulls the wrong way for my preferences.

I've been using two Carr presses for many, many years and have never had a problem with them and they've set thousands of durables (line 24) for me. The handle goes either way. Just make sure you get good quality dies to go with them.

Tony.

carr1.JPG

carr.JPG

post-5242-127564924578_thumb.jpg

post-5242-127564926883_thumb.jpg

I've been using two Carr presses for many, many years and have never had a problem with them and they've set thousands of durables (line 24) for me. The handle goes either way. Just make sure you get good quality dies to go with them.

Tony.

I have a Tandy that is about 4 years old and it has been really good. Weaver sells one that is good and both carry all kinds of dies for them. If you buy at a Tandy store, you don't have to pay shipping and they come on sale periodically. Ken

Tony.

Look familiar??

DSC00124.JPG

(feeBay Deal! $15 delivered)

post-6344-127565826711_thumb.jpg

Thanks for all the replies.

I spoke to the company who sells the machine from my earlier post and he said the machine was designed for the gripper snaps and wouldn't work for the caps w/ a post. I don't see why not other than I can't get dies for them. Who knows.