wilstreak

Apple Hermes Double Tour Watch Band

well, the thing is I am total noob on leather working

and then after looking at Apple Hermes Double Tour watch, i totally want it, but of course no chance for me to shell out $ 1250 for a leather watch strap and i feel the urge to suddenly make one for me.

So it is true that for making such a fine leather item, one have to be so experienced, but i decided to get my hand dirty and practice on my own by reading this forum, only 1 question though:

What is the leather that is being used for that Apple Hermes watch strap or usually what is the leather for watch strap:

-Vegetable tanned or Chrome tan

-Pull up or etc

-Natural grain or top grain and whatever else

-Cow, goat, horse or the other

can you suggest me which kind of the leather to buy?

and maybe some tips for newbie

Thank you guys

hermes-doubletour-hero-print-cropped_col

Hermes watch strap is hardly a newbie project, it's more suited to be a test for an experienced leather crafter (test of patience, technique and knowledge). Even someone that has it all in the hands could mess up by now knowing his/her edge finishing chemicals.

And even if you were the most talented guy for the job, you'd need tools and machines that are way above the $1250 mark.

It's nice that something inspired you to take up the craft but you should learn the basics (which would alleviate your leather type selection troubles), then get the most basic tools, then do easy projects and if you still wanna go further, get a heavy duty sewing machine etc.

There are several youtube videos of Hermes making watch straps. Do a search there.

My guess is they are using calfskin from Haas Tannery in France.

There are several great strap makers out there. Check out Hughes Low.

http://hughes-handcrafted.tumblr.com

http://www.watchesbysjx.com/2012/08/how-to-hand-making-watch-strap.html

Edited by thefanninator