Sign in to follow this  
Jarl

question about the sewing machine I have

Hello everyone! I have been reading the posts here for a week or so now trying to absorb some of the information available here since I am a novice at leatherwork. I enjoy the work and I have been making things whenever I get the chance for about 3 years now. My ferrier who does reproduction Rev. war cavalry work taught me some basics beyond what I already knew and I have been working with that trying to improve for awhile now. At any rate I had a question about the sewing machine I have access to. I was wondering what I would have to do to set it up for stitching leather. My grandfather is a tailor who owns a few factories and all he could suggest was a teflon foot. So I decided to ask where people would know alot more about the topic I want to know. The machine is a Necchi Single Needle machine (The picture below is the best i could find of it....seems it was imported from italy years ago by my grandfather.)

So anyone know what I can do? Or should i just give up and go buy something....

Thanks!

G835.jpg

post-5402-1197648938.jpg

Hi Jarl.

I'm going to put my neck out here and say that unless you have an industrial walking foot machine, or one designed to sew heavy leather, you probably won't be able to sew anything but the very thinnest of leathers. A machine that was intended for tailoring is able to handle fabrics, but does not have the power needed to punch through heavy leather :thumbsdown: . The industrial machines have very powerful motors and are able to sew as much as 3/4 inch thick leathers :thumbsup: .

As far as sewing machine feet go, all I ever use is a regular foot, a welt foot, and a zipper foot on my industrial machine. I personally don't see a need for teflon foot, as the walking foot on the machine works differently than a regular sewing machine.

If you still have questions, I'm sure someone in the sewing machine forum can answer them better than I.

Edited by Hilly