MooksWilson

Burnished Edges With Colored Stripes

sign-2-700x400.jpeg

Any idea how they are achieving this edge work? Curious how they achieved the colored stripes as well as the super glossy finish.

sign-2-700x400.jpeg

Any idea how they are achieving this edge work? Curious how they achieved the colored stripes as well as the super glossy finish.

although I'm no expert, my guess is that there is some sort of lining material like a pigskin in between the layers of leather...

here's my experience with edges...the more time you take with them, the better they look...what I mean, is that if you want glassy edges like that, you must be willing to spend some time going over the edges with a few different grits of sandpaper...I even edges out with 220 grit on a dremel, then I go over the edges with 400, then 600, then 1000....don't go to the next grit until the current grit you are using has "cut" the entire edge, and sand in one direction only.....after finishing with 1000 grit, I dye the edges. I take a Q tip and dip it into some dye, then roll the dye onto the edge....don't soak the edge, just coat it...then I'll take a piece of old denim and slick the edge in one direction with it until it shines. After, you can slick some saddle soap onto the edge, and repeat with the denim. To seal the edges, you can use a light coat of resolene cut 50:50....after the resolene dries, hit the edges with the wood slicker. Resolene will harden and seal the edge and help lay down any loose fibers....don't apply it to thick though, otherwise if the edge bend you will have a cracked plastic looking edge. The key with resolene is cutting it about 50:50 with water....comes out to thick straight from the bottle.

just my process, patience is the key to good edges...hope this helps :)