Willis7737

Greenhorn Looking For Advice/opinions (Spot Setting)

Greenhorn here looking for a little help with making a decision on spot setting.

I'm just getting into leatherwork, and I'm looking to do it for two reasons, one to have fun/pickup a useful hobby, and two, make a little extra cash on the side.

In about two weeks, I am going to some barrel racing finals with my fiance for her to compete and for us to try and sell our crafts for a little extra money. I'll get to the point:

I want to order these and these so that I can make some saddle charms. With the gem spots, I found multiple ways to set them, but I've never done it myself.

I found an actual spot setter on tandy, but it's $40 and I want to keep my overhead down as much as possible.

While searching the forums I found that others just measure it out, cut some holes, and place the spots in there and bend the ends.

Someone else suggested this adjustable slot punch.

What is your opinion based on the project I'm doing? It's definitely not very thick vegetable tanned leather, so it shouldn't be tough to just cut some holes and place them in there, but do you think it would look finished enough? Do you recommend the adjustable slot punch because it's cheaper? Do you think I should just bite the bullet and get tandy's spot setter?

Any creative ideas and helpful advice would be fully appreciated.

Thank you!