I am new to leatherwork. I need to know how to punch holes through multiple layers of leather. I am using 8-10oz leather to make holsters. I have been using a drill with a tiny bit to make the holes through both layers so that the holes match up. I know this is not correct, but I have yet to find a good way to do this and ensure they line up. My holsters are turning out okay, but I want to do it right. Can someone let me know if they use their diamond awl to go through two layers at once? Can you let me know if there are different size diamond awls, and if so what size would you recommend. If you respond, pics would be great if possible. I really appreciate your time. I will attach a pic of a holster I did.

post-40394-0-98268200-1364094360_thumb.j

There is likely no single question that will get more differant responces.

What I do. I drill the holes with a very large sewing machine needle. Tandy sells them. Put the needle in the drill press and drill through with it (turn it on). The needle will push leather back but not remove leather like a drill bit will.

Aaron

There is likely no single question that will get more differant responces.

What I do. I drill the holes with a very large sewing machine needle. Tandy sells them. Put the needle in the drill press and drill through with it (turn it on). The needle will push leather back but not remove leather like a drill bit will.

Aaron

So you use a drill press but put a sewing needle in it? I thought about that but wasn't sure. Good advice I will try it. Thanks a bunch for your response.

So you use a drill press but put a sewing needle in it? I thought about that but wasn't sure. Good advice I will try it. Thanks a bunch for your response.

Exactly. The sewing needle is spun like a drill.

Two layers of 8-10oz? Diamond awl. Sharpen and polish until you think you're done, then do it some more. Use the smallest size you can get away with; the smallest 1-1/2" size does for most jobs like this.