oldskoolbob

Singer 111W155 Cracked Upper Arm

Hi,

My name is Bob I'm new to Leatherworker.net.

I picked up a Singer 111W155 as is machine for a very parts machine price.

It needs a timing belt and the previous owner could not get the handwheel off.

I managed to remove it (not easy). Now the bearing assembly is just as stuck.

I'm soaking everything in Liquid Wrench and waiting.

While cleaning and oiling this machine. I noticed some hairline cracks in the upper arm.

The arm is still quite rigid. Did these cracks happen in these old machines?

Is this the end of the road for this machine?

Any help or wisdom is welcome.

Thanks,

Bob

That is probably why it sold for parts. As old as the machine is the bearing should slide off with no problem. Could be the cracks are more than just cracks where the bearing fits fo the frame of the machine. It may have been dropped on the upper arm. I hope you did not pay to much for it.

Good luck.

On the 111w155 there's a collar on the bearing on the inside that has 2-screws in it that you need to loosen too,are they loose?.Before you try to slide it off you should look for high spots where the screws go & file them off & the bearing will slide of easier.That's usually why the wheel is hard to pull off because the screws loosen & then they burr up the shaft as people sew on it.

@ Geneva, The cracks are out on the arm where the cutaways are in back. I only paid $20. I thought at the least I could learn a bit about tearing down and rebuilding a compound feed machine without any risk of investment. Worst case, I could strip it and have a decent box of spares and maybe a nice garden planter.

@Cowboy Bob, The set screws are out of the collar. I then dripped penetrating oil into the bores in the collar. The handwheel had slipped and the set screws cut a nice groove on the shaft. I turned the wheel while holding the shaft. I basically polished the groove as the wheel turned along it.