Helsing

What Does An Acanthus Look Like?

Hello all!

I am a complete beginner in leatherwork and want to learn carving the sheridan style.

To get it looking right I need a mental picture of what it is I am trying to make a stylized image of but I can't seem to find any pictures of

acanthus flowers that look like they are the origin of the sheridan style pattern.

Can someone please point me to some pictures of "the real thing" and possibly even name the species often used?

Cheers

/Helsing

Hello all!

I am a complete beginner in leatherwork and want to learn carving the sheridan style.

To get it looking right I need a mental picture of what it is I am trying to make a stylized image of but I can't seem to find any pictures of

acanthus flowers that look like they are the origin of the sheridan style pattern.

Can someone please point me to some pictures of "the real thing" and possibly even name the species often used?

Cheers

/Helsing

:google0dw:http://www.google.com/search?q=acanthus+flower

Thank you!

Yes I have googled but I can't find anything that actually looks like the sheridan pattern with veiners and swirls. They actually look more like ferns to me...

An artistic representation is typically highly stylized so that the viewer can identify the subject, and possibly the artist's work by that style.

It wasn't until pretty recently that we, as people, had the ability to click on a picture and print it out in the comfort of our homes. Before that,....and way back before that....artists and artisans would portray an 'idyllic' version so the viewer could tell what it's supposed to be, without the onus of trying to visually replicate each and every detail of the real thing.