mrtreat32

Arbor Press And Die Cutting

I read some topics awhile back on here discussing manual and electric clickers for cutting out leather using dies. I am not yet at the point in my leather production that I want to shell out that type of money ($1300 for a manual clicker) seems to be the going rate?

I recently came across a leatherworker on my instagram feed who uses dies and mentioned he uses a arbor press to cut them out. This seems like it would be too obvious and cheap of a solution. I have never used a clicker so I have no hands on experience with one. What do they offer that a arbor press does not? I would assume the cutting area is much bigger? anything else?

BTW I make mostly small leather goods and use calfskin and other leathers usually 2-5oz. The guy on my instagram feed makes thicker bridle and veg tan wallets which look like 6-7oz pieces from what I can tell. For the leather thickness I am using would this work?

I am curious if anyone can tell me the drawbacks and what benefit I would get from a actual manual clicker.

Look forward to hearing anyones feedback

thanks

I use an arbor press from harbor freight as a clicker once in a while. I also use it to do the larger 3d stamps. They work pretty well, but there are limitations, such as size of item. My die is about 2 1/2" x 5" approximately. One thing about the arbor press, if the die is over a few inches you might have to click it in one spot then move it over a bit and do it again. Which for me has worked out fine, you just have to make sure not to lift up the die, otherwise you can mess up your cut and get messed up edges. I've also seen guys using the larger hydraulic presses from harbor freight to stamp out larger pieces.

Chris

Thanks.

I understand moving it to a few positions before cutting through might be needed but that doesn't seem like too much trouble. Do you use a 1 ton arbor press or you think more would be needed for leathers going up to about 6-7oz max