I took a basic leather class at a Tandy leather store in Phoenix and this is my first project. I have gotten 6 wallet orders from this project! Thanks for taking a look.

tn_wallet_cropped.JPG

tn_name_side_of_wallet.JPG

tn_flower_side_of_wallet.JPG

tn_lacing_up_close.JPG

tn_wallet_cropped.JPG

tn_name_side_of_wallet.JPG

tn_flower_side_of_wallet.JPG

tn_lacing_up_close.JPG

post-7195-1244913696_thumb.jpg

post-7195-1244913718_thumb.jpg

post-7195-1244913734_thumb.jpg

post-7195-1244913747_thumb.jpg

Very nice! Your father will love it.

Wish my first project came out looking that good.

If anyone would like to leave critiques I would love to hear it. I want to get better at doing leather tooling, carving and stitching. I have done drawing and painting types of artwork, but am a beginner at this. Love doing it. Thanks.

Here is one of the designs for a wallet that I drew myself and carved it on the wallet that was a special order. They wanted two horses facing each other. That swivel knife is a difficult thing to master. I think the thing just tries to take over!

On this wallet I discovered gold cova paint. I watered it down a bit and it gave the horses a gold sheen. I love horses, so this was fun.

Double_horse_head_close_up_wallet.jpg

double_horse_head_side.jpg

Double_horse_head_close_up_wallet.jpg

double_horse_head_side.jpg

post-7195-1244922978_thumb.jpg

post-7195-1244922988_thumb.jpg

Looks great.

What Tandy store did you go to? I'm looking at taking class there just to get some basics... I live somewhat close to the one off I17 & Bell.

Teh biggest beginning learning tip I can give you is to find some scrap and tool the same pattern 4 times. You will definatly be able to see your pregression as you become more stable at cutting and things start to smooth out with your tooling.

Knife cuts should be about 1/2 way through the leather. The thicker the leather, the deeper you and cut and tool.