Calvus

What Should I Charge?

I've been given my first commission! Well, not officially, since I haven't given my friend the price yet, which is why I've come to you experts.

You may have seen the belt I recently made for my wife.

All dressed up

Well, a friend of mine wants me to make her one as well, with some slight changes. I'm fine with that, seeing as how they are minor. My issue is what should I charge her. She's willing to pay, but I want to be fair about it. My problem is that I don't have most of the materials required. (I'm only a hobbyist.)
All materials combined comes to $77.30, which includes shipping. I really need a larger buttonhole punch to make this work better, but I'm not charging for that since she isn't receiving the tool. My time is worth something, at least to me, but I can't remember how long it took me to make the original belt. This commissioned belt will include sewing (by hand), which will increase time significantly.
I'm thinking of charging a flat $100. What do you think? What would you charge for something like this?

I charge $25-30 per hour, then price of goods plus 40% markup. It is okay to make money off of family and friends. Remember this was custom and custom is 3-4 times higher than buying off the rack.

I charge $25-30 per hour, then price of goods plus 40% markup. It is okay to make money off of family and friends. Remember this was custom and custom is 3-4 times higher than buying off the rack.

Yeah, what she said...

Did I read that correctly? Materials cost is $77.30? That seems a bit high for that one belt. If you need to order materials for this belt you should only charge your client/customer for the materials used and not everything you order. Any material left over now becomes your remaining inventory for other projects to make money with.