ericluther

Tooling, how can I get this look???

I saw this guys work and was blown away, how would I achieve this look? I am new to tooling, but do understand the basics.

this is his website, some truly amazing work I thought.

Eric

kj3.jpg

kj3.jpg

post-5617-1244342497_thumb.jpg

I'm gonna stick my neck out and say I'm almost but not quite sure that was block dyed.

like what kind of tool did he use to get that round edge on everything? or what did he use around the edges to make it stand out??

is block dyed mean he cut it out of wood and pressed it???

sorry Im clueless on tooling lol

Edited by ericluther

A little clarification:

Block dying means wrapping a "block" or anything else with a good firm edge with a cloth and applying the dye to the cloth. Then the straight edge is pulled across the leather, so that any portion that is indented/bevelled/stamped/etc, (below the surface of the leather) doesn't get any dye.

like what kind of tool did he use to get that round edge on everything? or what did he use around the edges to make it stand out??

is block dyed mean he cut it out of wood and pressed it???

sorry Im clueless on tooling lol

He probably spent a lot of time using a modeling spoon to round over the edges after carving and beveling/backgrounding.

As to the hammered steel look, I'd guess he used a smooth pear shader of some kind?

ericluther- please give us a link to the site that you found this picture on. You never know- the artist may be here already! :)

Johanna

I thought I recognized the work. That is Duane Ballard, a very talented guy!

Johanna

I'm new to leatherwork, and tooling especially, but come from a fine art background and his work just really struck a chord with me,

I was just blown away. I like the style alot!

Heres a crappy cell phone photo of my first tooling attempt on a wallet, any critiques would be appreciated

lucky.jpg

lucky.jpg

post-5617-1244388335_thumb.jpg

Wow ... a lot of inspirational seats on that page!