TheTrooper

how to achieve round edges

Hello fellowers,

could anyone of you could be so nice and explain me how to achieve round edges. When I bevel the edges normally I get something like an 45° angle, but how to get them round ??

Regards,

Marcel

I'm not an expert, but I think the size of the edge beveler makes a difference. If you use a small enough edge beveler, just enough to take the corners off and then use a rounded profile burnisher you should end up with the desired result. Someone who knows more about this will probably post more info soon enough. Hope this helps though.

good luck,

John

THX a lot guys. Why I had this idea not by myself ?!? All the needed tools I have a home :lol:

I´ll try it and post about the results. Maybe I´ve to get a smaller edger, but I´ll try the one (I´m just starting ;)) I have at first.

Cheers,

Marcel

Marcel,

The easiest way to get round edges is to use round bottom edgers. They cut in a round profile to start with. The readily available ones cut a flat profile, like the TLF and common edgers from CS Osborne. They cut a flat cut much like mini french edgers. The old time makers made round bottom edgers - Gomph and others. Today there are a few tool makers making them. Most all of the Bisonette pattern edgers will cut in a round profile. Three makers that make round bottom edgers are Ron from Ron's Tools (www.ronstools.com) and Jeremiah Watt (www.ranch2arena.com) has two styles - the Vizzard edgers and round edgers. Bob Douglas makes round bottom edgers too. All are good tools in my hands.

Yes Bruce you beet me to it i was using to start with a tandy edger and no matter how long i would polish i wouldnt be round, then i got the osbourne round edge beveler and ive not looked back since, Don