Sign in to follow this  
rmr

sewing a Gusset with a machine

Im somewhat new to using a sewing machine to sew a gusset on a shotgun shell pouch. What Im referring to as a gusset is at the side of the pouch where Im sewing a one flat piece of leather ( the front, bottom and back of the pouch) to the side piece which is curved and a folded in (the gusset).

Will this best be done using a stirup plate on the machine????

Any tricks to hold the leather in this curved/folded in position while trying to accomplish this - the leather Im using is Latigo so it cant be cased to make it mold into the shape I want ( Im thinking about placing some neatsfoot oil on it to make it more supple and sewing it while its still "wet") - and I suspect glue wont hold it in this position either. So do you just hold it with brute forece and get it sewn together as fast as possible ??????

Thanks for any tips

RMR

I use the stirrup plate. I stick the gussets in with glue and hold them in place with binder clips side by side. I let everything set up for a few hours before sewing if I can and then sew slowly. Take off the binder clips as you come to them.

I use the stirrup plate. I stick the gussets in with glue and hold them in place with binder clips side by side. I let everything set up for a few hours before sewing if I can and then sew slowly. Take off the binder clips as you come to them.

Thank you

RMR

Rmr. Another method you can use to hold the gusset in place is to use a few strategically placed tacks and pull them out as you come to them or you can use a few tack ties. Place one (of either) dead centre of your base. This will assist you to stitch it in square and avoid a lop sided twist.

Barra