I had some time today so I did this

post-41377-0-06413900-1371014330_thumb.j

Making this

post-41377-0-59897800-1371014412_thumb.j

And these

post-41377-0-99804500-1371014457_thumb.j

Edited by cst

Well, stitching and final polishing on the notebook covers and wallets. I also took the coin purses out from under their rocks and put finish on about a dozen of those.

The phone case was one thing I have been wanting to do for a while, but I didn't want to pay more than five bucks for the plastic piece. I saw one in a store today for a buck. All I had to do was sand the Hello Kitty off of it and stain it brown.

Obviously I'm new at this, but I'm learning and having fun. Feel free to critique, I try not to bring my feelings to the Internet.

Great idea for the phone cover :)

Thanks.

Here is a close up of one of the leaf covered covers. I know it is not a new technique, but I dig it

post-41377-0-66359400-1371018867_thumb.j

It may not be a new technique but I don't know it :D do you have a link to a how-to by any chance? It looks great!

I don't know of a how to. Basically I pressed leaves into wet leather. Get it damp like you we're going to tool it then get it a little wetter. Then I mashed them into the leather with my press. I found that the length of time you squish the leaf into the leather is as important as how hard. I only used three leaves on this one, I just moved them around a lot. When the leather was dry enough to dye, I used some Fiebings Oxblood and block dyed it. About 15 or 347 times. When I got the look I wanted, I quit. I do these with an antique finish as well.post-41377-0-82310200-1371046839_thumb.j

I wish I had read that a while back. It would have saved me some experimentation. Now off to learn how to make pictures show right side up. Or up side up.

Great projects and the spin off benefit of learning a new technique!

Thanks for posting

A discussion (and eventually a couple of how-to's) of imprinting leaves into leather....