Sign in to follow this  
jennifer

Saddle Business Questions

I am a business data analyst, not a saddle maker, but I think one of the most difficult problems facing the custom saddle making industry is lack of consumer education.

How does the consumer know which saddles are built on custom trees, do they need a custom tree, why should they spend $4000.00 on a plain saddle, when they can buy a fancy saddle on e-bay for $1000.00? They are going to trust big name trainers on RFDTV and their local tack shop.

If I Google custom western saddle makers I find a list of 50 makers at http://www.western-saddle-guide.com/saddle-makers.html, www.budshaulsaddlery.com, and www.knightssaddlery.com/aboutandy.html,

The only advertisements for used saddles that had any good information on the tree was http://eclectic-horseman.com/content/view/126/100/ which I only found by googleing 93 degree bars western saddle. E-bay ads are worthless.

I have market questions that may prove interesting:

How many of you pay your local tack shop for referrals equal to what they would make on the sale of one of the production saddles on the shelf?

Do you keep track of your saddles after sale?

Do you offer to resell your saddles for the customer if they decide to sell? (This could satisfy the buy-it-now customer)

Do you know the resale value of your saddles?

Are you interested in increasing market share or are you too busy for comfort now?

Is your greatest interest the welfare of the horse or your income? Where is the balance? (You may not want to answer this one on a public forum)

If you want increased market share how do we go about educating the public and finding the potential customer?

Are you interested in being fairly paid for your work product or meeting fair market pricing (what a willing buyer will pay a willing seller)?

Do you know what your time is worth? (To make $70,000 / year you need to produce one plain saddle per week, 50 weeks a year, with $1400.00 profit per saddle.)