ItsJustNC

Leather Grain Direction.

Hey guys.! I've been leathercrafting for a few years now, and recently I've been pondering about something that has been hardly considered and talked about in great depth amongst leathercrafters. The ever illusive "grain flow direction" of leathers. More often than not, people wouldn't consider it as that big a factor but i was wondering what do the guys here think..?

Because i personally feel that there might be something to it. Like how i find that belts and straps feel more supple when its cut parallel to the spine as compared to perpendicular. Or how i find that having the main body of the bags i make cut along with the flow of the grain tends to create bags that retain it's shape better. Kind of like how woodworkers cut parallel to the wood grain for more strength. I believe that the way patterns are set will affect how our products will age and mould as time passes. But my ears are open to opinions.! =D

So what do you guys think..? Does anyone feel that there is a noticeable quality difference in cutting a belt from a side hide along with the flow of the grain in comparison with cutting a belt from a double shoulder/ double butt against the flow of the grain.?

IMG_0127%5B1%5D.JPG

Pardon the poor illustration.! I just did a quick sketch on the way i saw things in my head about this particular subject. From what i observed the general grain flow goes from the head right down to the tail. And it gradually curves downward and meet right in the center of the belly where there is a whole whirl of erratic flows. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.!

I think the "grain" you are talking about would be the same as the way the hair lays on a live animal. Good idea, but not always possible to cut some pieces like this such as a saddle seat which will span a broad area with several different "grain" directions.

Tom