I've been working with leather for about 2 years now and have never had this happen. I am making straps for a breast collar and after they have been died and treated, they are cracking when you bend them. I thought it was the particular hide I bought so made another strap from a different piece of leather and the same thing is happening. Straps are 3/4 inch wide, of 6 - 7 oz veg tan....they were cased so I could run a scribe line down each side. Holes were punched then they were died with a mixture of Fiebings Mahogany and Medium Brown, which was diluted with dye reducer. Edges were finished with edge coat and paraffin wax. Any suggestions, ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Avery

I'm new an this happened to me the other day when I was experimenting with a piece of scrap, the leather cracked like, taking a potato chip and trying to bend it. I dehydrated the leather, so you need to condition with oil.

Thanks....sounds like my problem exactly. Never had it happen before though so I'll pay better attention to treating my leather after casing.

New leather absolutely shouldn't be that dry. Is your shop very dry? In the winter up here, I run a humidifier.

And, I assume that you're wetting the leather at the fold before bending ...

I live in Oregon, so absolutely have no issues with a dry studio. Yes, I wet the leather before making a bend. I have applied some Black Rock Leather n Rich to the back sides and let it sit overnight...It has helped, but I agree, new leather shouldn't crack like this. I bought it from Tandy, but will go elsewhere in the future.

Seems that the Tandy leather is the issue. I got some 8/9 oz that I've had less than 3 months and is cracking when bent after dying. I oil after dying and condition after the finishes but it doesn't prevent all the cracks (does help significantly). I'll put a humidifier in my shop to see if it helps. Otherwise, when this stuff is gone I'm going elsewhere for leather as well.

Edited by cgleathercraft