theoldcoyote

Looking For The Right Swivel Knife?

I'm new to leatherwork. I'm a carpenter by trade and know the importance of a quality tool versus a piece of crap. That said I don't want to drop alot of bread on the wrong tool. Would y'all recommend I buy a cheap Tandy swivel to figure out what feels good in my hand or just pull the trigger and buy a Barry King? I have average size hand but fat figures due to alot of broken knuckle over the years. Barry's swivels come in 3/8" up to 5/8" and I'm clueless where I'd be. Also, should I start off with a straight blade or angle? 1/4" or 3/8"?

Thank ya kindly,

Caleb

In terms of swivel knives, the BK isn't too expensive. I was asking the same questions when it was time to upgrade and found that a lot of the seasoned pros recommend a 5/8 barrel and 3/8 straight blade. This will be similar in size to a Tandy, but they are a LOT more comfortable to my big hands. I would also start with the "thick" blade since it will be more of a all around cut. You can always get the other blades later as you need them.

I'd say go for the BK knife. It's miles better than the Tandy one. It won't break your bank and you can order something that fits you comfortably. (I have small hands so the extra small barrel he sent me was a godsend). If you decide leathercraft isn't for you, you can sell it easily enough.

In my opinion, the swivel knife is one of the most important (if not THE most important) tool in leathercraft tooling. The knifework is the foundation for the rest of the carving.

Thanks y'all. On another note, I was thinking of ordering one of Barry's round mauls as well. What size would you recommend?

I would say the 16 or 20oz. would be the best for almost anything that you will need- I would also recommend an angled blade. Easier to learn with as you need to tip the blade anyway when you carve.