Sign in to follow this  
Ferg

Pro Crafters Series

Forgive me if this has been asked before. Anyone used the Pro Crafters Series stamps. They have some very interesting patterns.

How were the impressions?

ferg

Edited by 50 years leather

Just repeating others' reviews, but the consensus is "better than the current run of TLF, but still not as good as Douglas and Beard tools.......but priced affordably." Somewhere along the lines of the old (20+ yrs) Crafttool.

Ditto! I have had a couple of the shafts bend on me, but than again my nickname is Thor when I am handling a maul.

Ditto! I have had a couple of the shafts bend on me, but than again my nickname is Thor when I am handling a maul.

Hey King, I just have a quick question for you. I'm not picking on you I'm just asking, I've been working with Leather off and on since about 1974. I've hit some stamps so hard that they cut through the leather and made a mark on my marble block. I use set stamps, carving tools, 3-D, etc, but in all my experience I've never bent a tool. I use a split head Garland Mallet, at about 3.5 lbs. on some things, but still have never bent a tool. You are by not the only one to say something about bending tools, by a long shot. I just wonder if I am not doing something right. I don't mean that to sound smart a**ed, but I don't see how ya'll are bending the tools unless you're hitting them at some sort of angle. Anyway just curious, thanks for now, Billy P

I have three to my record. One craftool and two pro series. I blew the tandy manager away with the bent craftool, which happened to be a basketweave tool. So were the pro series tools as well. I used a 3lb maul to strike these tools. According to Ron at Hidecrafter's, he told me that has seen this happen to a couple of their tools. I dunno.

It took me a while to learn how not to ruin leather....lol. Since I switched to BK, Hackbarth and Wayne J's I have not had one bend......period! That is all I am saying.