Sign in to follow this  
lightingale

Is My Awl Still Too Dull? Photos

I'm still struggling to sew through 2 layers of 8-9oz leather. I have no experience sharpening tools but did my best on the sharpening stone as per Stohlman's instructions. I think it's gotten a little better but I still have to wriggle it to get it through, resulting in large ugly holes in one side.

I've attached photos of my awl and the big sewing holes. Is my awl still as dull as a toothpick? I don't know what a perfect awl blade SHOULD look like.

post-29375-035685500 1337094152_thumb.jp

post-29375-056363000 1337094262_thumb.jp

post-29375-037300800 1337094378_thumb.jp

Edited by lightingale

Let me guess... Tandy 4-in-1?

If it is, then you should change the diamond awl bit for a scratching awl and never use it to punch holes for stitching again. Then throw the 2 diamond awl bits away and buy a good quality awl from a reputable tool maker.

Otherwise you'll spend hours shaping & stropping the 4-in-1 diamond bit just to end up with a poor tool anyway.

Let me guess... Tandy 4-in-1?

Guilty as charged.

I ordered an Osborne awl last week but it's not in yet... figured the Tandy one should be at least serviceable for learning. Guess not! Thanks for the confirmation.

Geez, is everything from Tandy crap? I already scrapped my Eco-Flo (Tandy) stuff for Fiebing's. HUGE difference. The only things I still use from my starters' kit are the mallet, the modelling tool and the swivel knife which I'd like to replace with a Barry King one soon. hehe.

I think all of us, newbies, fell into the "kit" trap at least once. My eco-flo all-in-one is also scrapped=) So are fiebing's dye prep & edge kote. So are the starter stamps, mallet and the swivel knife. The overstitch wheel is still in use though=)