JLeigh

New Newb From Western Wa!

Hello Leatherworker(s)! I am new to leatherworking and to this forum. I recently became interested in working with leather because I wanted a wallet style phone case but didn't see any in retail that I liked and I started to think to my self, "self, i can make what i want!" Having a background in knitting, sewing, and quilting this seemed pretty likely. After some research I realized what a wonderful skill this would be for collaborating with my husband, he makes chain maille accessories geared toward bikers and rock bands. So, that's a bit about me :) This forum has been a great resource in the two days since I've found it. Thank you all for being so open with your craft. Can't wait to hit up the local leather shop tomorrow for a few needed supplies!

Sorry for the duplicate post, dunno why it did that :/

Welcome to the show. Is this similar to what you are looking to make?

post-21759-0-27391900-1421825019_thumb.jpost-21759-0-40570800-1421825013_thumb.jpost-21759-0-36076900-1421825016_thumb.j

Welcome to the show. Is this similar to what you are looking to make?

attachicon.gif20141208_161556.jpgattachicon.gif20141208_132401.jpgattachicon.gif20141208_132421.jpg

NV, thanks for the welcome. Once I get some practice done that is pretty much what I'm thinking! Though with a few more bells and whistles. I'd like a loop to hold a pen/stylus and I'd like to figure out some sort of stand. Did you rivet a snap-on case to that? I appreciate the cut out on the back for the camera, that is something I definitely want to incorporate! Thank you for sharing pictures of your work Edited by JLeigh

JLeigh, welcome to the forums. Look forward to seeing your first project. I don't know how familiar you are with leather suppliers in your area, thought I would mention besides Tandy which for you is going to be Shoreline or Tacoma/Parkland. There is also MacPehrsons Leather in Seattle .519 12th ave S off Yesler.

Edited by camano ridge