BobH

Sharpening A Stitching Groover

First, I might not be using correct terms because I am a beginner to the craft. I've got a bunch of tools (given to me) but only a little knowledge. One of the tools that I did NOT get in the generous gift from my brother, an adjustable stitching groover like the one pictured on this web page: My link.

After re-reading Stohlman's The Art of Hand Sewing Leather I decided I needed one. What I received was in a package with a Tandy label in the plastic bag (but I didn't buy from Tandy directly). As with the other tools in my kit, I practice with them to try to learn how they work and how I should use them. Although instruction would be far better than my trial and error approach, there is none available to me locally that I'm aware of. In trying to use this tool, I was pretty much stymied. I have a v-groove cutter that is shaped similar to a musical instrument maker's finger plane, and I have one that has a U-channel in the tip of the tool and another like that that cuts a V-groove. Those I think I'm using correctly. IT is this offset, adjustable groover that has me stymied.

I took a piece of veg tanned 8 or 9 oz cowhide scrap to use the tool with. I first squared up the edges of the scrap so that I could rest the tool on the edge. I then tried to figure out how the tool works. At first, I thought that it had been shipped without a blade. Checking back in my book references, I decided that the black bar that runs through the top of the shaft is the cutter. I found a very minor burr on the edge of the little bit bent at 90 degrees. The burr is not at all sharp. In dry leather, it barely made a mark and the one it did make was more a scratch than a cut groove. In wet leather (not soaking but dampened according to instructions I've read on this forum and elsewhere) it only crushed the leather without cutting anything at all.