BanjoMan

Pancake Holster/belt Rig With Badge Holder For Glock 22

This is a pancake holster for a Glock 22, a belt, and a badge holder that I recently completed. The holster is made of 8 oz. veg. tanned leather and is lined with glazed pigskin. It is hand stitched and hand boned. The belt is made of 2 belt blanks (approx. 8 oz. each) that have been hand stitched together to make one strip for added strength. The badge holder is made of 2 seperate pieces, the front piece with a recess to allow the badge to sit flush with the face to prevent snagging. It also has a metal belt clip on the back. All items were dyed with Tandy eco-flo cocoa brown and finished with satin shene. I used a stitching groover on all items prior to stitching and the edges of the holster were beveled front and back. The saddle stitching was done with natural color artificial sinew. I am fairly new to holster making and I still have a lot to learn, so ANY input would be appreciated. Thanks!post-18515-012576900%201293088848_thumb.jpgpost-18515-096808000%201293088938_thumb.jpgpost-18515-026116300%201293088955_thumb.jpg

I forgot to mention in the post above, does anyone have any experience with using glazed pigskin to line a holster? I've researched it and found that a lot of people advise against using suede, but I can't find much feedback regarding pigskin. Any info would be appreciated!

BanjoMan,

Very nice, indeed. I don't know anything about holster lining, but I'm sure someone will chime in. Nice work. Semper-fi and Merry CHRISTmas from the Smokies in NC. MIke

Wow. Glocks are sooooo ugly. The only thing that can help a Glock's looks is a nice holster. Man you have done it. That is a good looking holster. As far as the lining. The only tried and true rule that i have heard in holster making is veg tanned leather only. All other rules may have an exception, but not that one.