qarawol

Singer 29-4 Bobbin And Other ?'s

Hi folks,

I'm still kinda new to the Singer 29-4 and have been using it now for about a week or two.

Looking at parts on-line, I see there are two sizes of bobbins available... a small and large as well as the appropriate shuttle hook that the bobbin fits in.

questions...

How do I know what I have? I see no bobbin size option in the user manual. Are the two sizes a direct drop in replacement just being sure you have the right size shuttle hook? i.e. no need to change the shuttle carrier. I guess a few more yards of thread can make a difference in a production line.

My needle plate has both large and small rounded ends. About 1/2" wide and 1" wide respectively and I can rotate to either. WHY? What is the propose of two sizes?

My stitch length regulator did not seem to give me the max distance. I notice the bell crank lever had too much play within the ring slot. I removed, welded, grind and polished the little rounded end to virtually no play when fitted into the ring slot. The stitch length is better now and it sews just great. The so-called problem is now that the turning of the ring slide bar (butterfly). It turns too freely. When I had everything apart, I did a thorough degrease, cleaning and lube job. All friction spring wires are in place and nothing is missing, all parts accounted for and back in place and tightened. You can flick one wing with a finger and it will turn half way around. Should this be a concern?

I'm sure more questions will pop up later.

Njoy Life...

Edited by qarawol

The Singer 29-4 only accepts small bobbins and small bobbin cases. The two ends of the throat plate are for thin or thick needles and thread. I never used the small hole when I had 29-4's.