I'm new to leather working, but I'm pretty happy with everything I've learned (mostly from here) in a short amount of time. My holsters are looking better and better, except for one thing. I can't figure out how in the heck to cut a clean belt loop hole. I've tried an oblong punch (which I can't get to punch through the two layers of leather without feeling like I'm just beating the thing to death), I've tried a chisel, I tried an exacto knife.......I'm just about at my whits end with this last detail. So I thought I would pick the brains of the experts here....how do you all cut your belt loop holes for holsters and/or mag pouches and make them look nice and professional? :dunno: I know there has got to be something I'm missing here.

Thanks!

Well, . . . ya gotta promise not to throw something at me.

I use a mallet and an oblong punch, . . . or a round punch.

I first lay my template down and mark the back side of my holes on the top of the belt.

Then I lay the belt on a piece of scrap 7 oz leather, on top of my big marble slab, pick up my mallet, and "WHACK", . . . I've got a hole.

I start at the hole farthest away from the tip of the belt, . . . center my punch in the middle of the belt, . . . and seriously, I just whack it. Now my bench does not move, . . . it is solid, . . . and the marble slab makes sure there is no movement. And most of the time I am going through two layers of 7/8 oz leather that has been cemented together, sewn, dyed, and Resolened.

I use the cheap kit with screw on nose pieces for my punches, . . . I have both sizes that Tandy sells, . . .

Some people also wet their leather before punching, . . . I don't, . . . but you might try that.

May God bless,

Dwight

post-6728-0-59934900-1367888686_thumb.jp

Edited by Dwight

Well, . . . ya gotta promise not to throw something at me.

I use a mallet and an oblong punch, . . . or a round punch.

I first lay my template down and mark the back side of my holes on the top of the belt.