kbar463

Gun Belt Of A Different Kind

Hello everyone, I've lurked here for a while but now have a question for the experts that I can't really find an answer to. Before that though, I would like to say that this site, and its contributors, provide an astounding resource and all around enjoyable place to spend time learning about leatherworking. I am a hobbiest and some of the designs and ideas and institutional knowledge are something that has allowed me to have even more fun poking and mashing leather than I thought it would be. On to my question.

I have a buddy who is a federal law enforcement officer, and I want to make him a belt because he always has trouble with store bought belts because the gun and holsters weight always end up twisting those cheap belts into uselessness very quickly. So I was thinking that I could make him a nice belt that might stand up to the rigours a bit better. I have little experience with belts other than tooling a few for some family memebers, but I was thinking that I would like to make him a lined belt, with maybe a little geometric tooling on it. I was hoping that by lining the belt and making it like 1and 1/2 or 1 and 3/4 inches wide, it might be a better gun belt than whatever he has been using. I probably should keep the width something that he can wear with business casual/ casual trousers (ie 2" width is probably out).

So will lining it with some tooling leather accomplish my goal? If so, what thickness' would be best? 7oz lined with 2/3 oz? or maybe 5oz lined with 5oz? Or maybe there is a solution that I haven't even thought of. Any help would be appreciated.

Mark

I've had good luck with dual layered 6/7 oz veg tan (tooling) leather. Beefy and rigid across its width, but still flexible enough along its length.

As for the width, I'd match it to the holsters and mag pouches he's using.