TheGreatestScot

My First Steps Into Leatherworking And I've Set My Goal High

Hi folks, just signed up and this is my first post. I'm extremely interested in making my own leather crafted creations and would love to know how to get started. I'm based in Scotland in the UK so hopefully ordering materials and tools won't be a problem.

My goal is to make my own long-lasting leather messenger/laptop bag I realise this is a very big item to want to start from but that's why I'm posting, I'd love advice on maybe other places to start and hone my skills, smaller projects and such that people would personally recommend before starting such a ambitious project, I have Zero experience in leather-work at all, it's safe to say I know absolutely nothing about it. However I'm extremely eager to learn and devote the time needed to learning and honing my skills.

To break it down:

• I have no experience however I'm very eager to learn and devote any time needed
  • My goal is to create my own multi-purpose messenger / laptop bag
  • I'm looking for the best way to achieve this goal, even if that means starting on smaller projects
  • I live in the UK (Scotland) so my buying options might be more limited, I'm not eager to import but not 100% against it.
  • It should also be noted, I have no dedicated workspace, only a desk in a shared room.

I realise this site probably gets a lot of posts like this that don't really go anywhere but I promise I am very eager, determined and willing to put in the time, money and effort to create my own leather-work items.

Have a great day and thanks for reading. :)

Hi from another newbie and welcome to the forum.

I remember posting something like this about 8 months ago =) I am also after a briefcase & a messenger bag.

The best thing to do is to read read and read this forum. You can also study others' work and see how pros handle different projects.