So, this is my first attempt at airbrushing brown dye. My previous brown experiences were with a dauber, and they didn't turn out as even as I'd like. In most cases, the brown eventually looked black due to me trying to even it all out. I have to say that I'm quite pleased with the result and will be airbrushing everything from now on - except the interior of the holster. Comments and critique welcome!

Holster specs:

Leather - 7-8 oz

Dye - Fiebings Dark Brown

Finish - Resolene

Pistol - Glock 27

G27_brown.jpg

Here's a shot next to a recently finished black one. The black one was my first try at the baby Glock pattern which is apparent by the corrected stitch line on the brown version (around the trigger guard).

g27_blk_brwn.jpg

Nice looking holster!

Air brushing looks great, but it will show flesh color quickly with wear, and scratches will stand out like a sore thumb. You might consider trying a quick dip dye job, and then apply a final finish with the air brush. The tone will still be even, and the color will have enough depth that the flesh color won't stand out if it gets scratched.

Airbrush finish looks really great. But I also concur with Boomstick for regular use a finish that penetrates deeper would be better in the long run. Really nice work on the holsters also.