Hi I am new to leather working and was able to pick up a Juki 8500 for $325.00 (in almost new condition) - so couldn't pass that up! I do have a couple questions I hope you can help with. I plan on sewing Horse bridles and breast collars with double 7-8 oz leather. I did modify the presser foot to get both pieces through nicely - but I am having a hard time slowing it down - and end up shooting the leather out the back - hehe!

I would like to know what type servo motor to get and possible places to get one. Also, what type needles and thread would be best.

PS - LOVE this site!!!

Welcome to our Forums, SewVic!

You have bought yourself a very high speed garment sewing machine, with a self oiling system. This machine is best used with thin, soft material, under 1/4 inch total thickness. It is designed for use with thin sewing thread, not exceeding #69 bonded nylon. The needle system is correspondingly thiinner than walking foot machine needles. You will be lucky to get it to sew leather with a #20 needle, and #69 thread.

Still, you might be able to cheat and up the thread and needle size a bit (to #138, with a #22 needle max).

I definitely know where you can get a super servo motor that will improve your sew-ability. It is called the SewPro 500 GR and it is sold by Toledo Industrial Sewing Machines. Many of our members use this motor on our walking foot machines, myself included. When purchased for leather sewing it comes with a 50 mm (2") pulley. It has built-in 3:1 gear reduction and a speed limiter knob on the back.