Sign in to follow this  
Peter Ellis

leather bottel

This is my first attempt at a leather bottel. Sealed inside and out with beeswax and then buffed by hand, with a little help from the blowdryer. I haven't measured it's capacity yet.

P1001524.jpg

P1001525.jpg

post-2402-1192677225_thumb.jpg

post-2402-1192677235_thumb.jpg

Peter , I like the look of you Leather Bottell

what type of stopper are you going to use .

Very nicely done Peter. What did you use to shape the Bottel?

Ken

Very nicely done Peter. What did you use to shape the Bottel?

Ken

I stuffed it full of plastic bags from the grocery store :evillaugh: No worries about trying to get every last grain of sand out.

Peter , I like the look of you Leather Bottell

what type of stopper are you going to use .

I haven't decided between rolling one in leather and waxing it or carving a wooden one.

Peter did the Wet leather expand just as easy with the plastic

bags as it would with sand? I have been useing sand, but it is another day for it to

dry after washing the sand out

Kudos Peter. Still haven't got around to trying one of these yet. May I ask

what weight leather you used?

I also would not of thought of stuffing with plastic, pretty creative. Well done, and maybe this will inspire me to give it a whirl. :thumbsup:

Steve, the leather was in the 8-10 oz range. I don't think I would want to go lighter, I would be concerned about it holding shape and not crushing.

Luke, it stretched out pretty easily. I can't say how it compares to sand since I've not tried it with sand.

Here are some I did using sand. I used 1.2mm ( 3 oz.)

They were fun projects not for holding any liquid.

Now that you mentioned plastic, maybe the next time round

I'll put in a few plastic bags then fill in the sand?

AR008102_1_1.JPG

AR012702_2_1.JPG

post-118-1192851278_thumb.jpg

post-118-1192851298_thumb.jpg