KBCustom

Carving Issues

Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to the site, but have been working with leather for quite a few years now. I am 100% self taught, so many of my techniques could use refining. My current problem/question involve carving techniques. I have been noticing that while im in the middle of beveling and backgrounding a piece, parts of my leather ( where i have made cuts) starts to get very brittle and almost takes on an undercut look to it. I have tried applying a leather conditioner, but it seems to give me issues when i go to stain my piece. I have included pictures of examples to help explain my question as well. I need to figure out how to make my work look more crisp and refined. Any criticism is greatly appreciated. Thanks KB Custom leather

post-59357-0-84237700-1422650041_thumb.j

post-59357-0-61120900-1422650045_thumb.j

One thing that I was taught long ago was to not cut as deep as originally recommended (i.e. approximately half the thickness of the leather). Instead, cut slightly less than half the thickness so that when you bevel, and background where necessary you actually bevel and background to the approximate half thickness level but you will not see the "white" (the prominent grain of the cut line) and your definition of the pattern will be more prominent. The issue of taking on an undercut look can be attributed to improper casing of the leather (would make it feel firmer and resist beveling and burnishing as it is too dry) as well as improper tool angle (even tipped slightly forward it can still create an undercut look). The use of any conditioner prior to dyeing/staining is going to create a color issue as it creates a "block" so that the grain can not absorb the color as intended. Conditioners are not part of the tooling/stamping phase, they are a finish to the finished/colored project.