shooter55

Singer 201-2 Help.

New to the forum, so please forgive any novice questions.

I have a Singer 201-2 gear drive machine made in 1947. Pristine shape and no mechanical issues what-so-ever. I have been hand sewing my leather work and although it looks nice, I'd like to speed things up a bit. I know that this is not the optimal machine for holster work, but I wanted to ease into a less expensive machine to see how I do before making a major purchase.

My question are these.

1. What would you recommend for leather weight (using a double thickness) I have tried 6 oz. and it seems to sew once it gets going.

2. What would be the suggested needle sizes (min/max) for this kind of work.

3. What size thread should be used. Both minimum and maximum.

4. Are there suggestions for accessories on this for holster work? (walking foot, guide etc.)

5. What would be the logical next step in a machine without breaking the bank.

I am just a hobbyist right now, but may delve into custom work for sale in the distant future.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Tim

Six oz chrome tanned with a leather point needle size 12 or 14 using 69, 46, or 33 thread, as you go to smaller thread, use a smaller needle. These are not the greatest heavy duty machines and you will ultimately cook the motor. A 31-15 or 31-20 or higher will be a better machine that will do limited service on veg tan with more substantial (138) thread. Sticking with 138, a 111-15? or a 153-101 will do somewhat better. These can all be had in excellent condition for less than $500. usually substantially less.

Holster work will require a larger machine like the Juki 441 or clone line.

There is no such thing as an "Industrial Strength" machine, there are consumer (aka Commercial) and Industrial; stay away from anyone describing a machine as "Industrial Strength".

Art