SeventhSon

Looking For Advice On First Machine

Hey folks, im looking for some advice on my first machine. I primarily do motorcycle seats so I'd like something that can take on some serious material. I've never used a machine before so I literally know nothing about them. So any advice or tips on machines you fols can provide would be much appreciated.

That's a good first question SeventhSon.

Motorcycle seats can be sewn on a flatbed machine, but are better handled by a cylinder arm or post bed machine on the turns. The last one I sewed was done on a "441" clone. This is a large machine with a big cylinder arm, having very high lift capabilities and capable of sewing with a wide range of thread sizes. As I recall, I used #207 thread, top and bottom, and sewed it inside out in such a manner that the curves went over the end of the machine as I sewed around the bends.

While you could use a medium duty cylinder arm machine for these jobs, the bigger 441 types are loafing, where the little brother might be puffing.

Price ranges

441 clones come in cylinder arm lengths of 9, 16.5 and 25 inches. Prices for them vary with brand and length, ranging from about $1800 to $3500.

The medium duty cylinder arm machines, which I will refer to as 227 types, range from about $1500 to $1700, for a basic machine, motor and table. Add accessory attachments and feet and you can easily spend $2,000 on one.

Tell us your budget and other sewing jobs and we can narrow down the options for you. Then call or email the dealers who advertise on this forum. Ask questions and see who offers the best price for the machine best suited to your work. If you buy a machine from one of our dealers, you can count on excellent after sale service. Most are available to handle questions over the phone and can help newbies work out the kinks in a short time.