fitabull

Newbie Canadian Girl!

Hello Leatherworker community and greetings from Toronto, ON!

I'm very new to the world of leatherwork and looking forward to learn all I can! I opened my own dog collar bizz "Fitabull Industries" in 2010, which caters to large breed dogs specifically. All my dogs are large and I could never find any suitable gear for them - so with my experience in industrial sewing (currently running an old JUKI LU563), I figure I'd just solve the problem by making what I wanted, myself. So, I turned my guest bedroom into a "sweatshop" of sorts and started Fitabull (my poor overnight guests now have to fight my dogs for couch space!)

Until recently, my medium has been just webbing (polyester, nylon, seatbelt) and Ive done quite well, but I'm bored so it's time to broaden my horizons! I've seen some amazing leather dog collars, and figure, why not learn to do them myself as well?!

I recently enrolled myself in a "Leather Fundamentals" class, which I found immensely useful, taught me the basics...cutting, dyeing, skiving, burnishing, use of some basic tools and some hand stitching techniques. I've also had a visit to Tundra Leather - great guy there! ..and had my first hide (veg tan 9-10oz) delivered...in between my regular orders, Ive been working on a few leather collars - they are pretty basic but I'm hoping, as I hone my skills, my collars will go from plain to superfantastical!

Looking forward to picking everyone's brain!!!

Here's a few collars I've done so far...

post-21855-0-74255800-1421954402_thumb.j

post-21855-0-93233500-1421954545_thumb.j

post-21855-0-99881200-1421954560_thumb.j

post-21855-0-60300300-1421954426_thumb.j

Michelle - head honcho @ Fitabull Industries.

Hello and welcome, Michelle.

Don't think you need a lot of assistance as you seem to have it down pat. Beautiful work.

Do you line all of your collars?

The name conchos are a great touch and look very nice.

God Bless.

Ray

Edited by raysouth