hdtraveller57

New Member In Alabama

New Member here....I've never worked with leather before but my dad made a few gun holsters and knife/ax sheaths when i was growing up so I figured why not. I'm planning to make a leather side bag, a tool bag and a large ruck sack for my Harley "Night Train" softail motorcycle. All Harley related leather goods are generally black and I want distressed brown leather since my motorcycle is pretty much all black already.

I picked up a side of 6-8 oz. oil tanned leather in distressed brown and was trying to figure out just how to begin when I read somewhere that I needed something called a "stitching pony" to make the job easier. Well, i gathered up a few spare pieces of plywood and 2x4's along with a couple of brackets and bolts I found lying around. I'm attaching a picture of what I threw together. I mounted a hook on the side to hang my stitch marker, drilled a few holes to hold the awl and a couple of needles and mounted a dowel to hold the roll of thread. It's got enough weight in the base to be pretty solid.

I've made a pattern for the side bag and cut the pieces today but I think I'll practice stitching on some scrap leather pieces just to be sure before I know what I'm doing before I actually begin stitching the bag together. I realize it's not rocket surgery but I figure a little practice can't hurt. I'll take pictures and post as I proceed making stuff. Who knows, I might take an interest in it and actually make a few things for friends and such.

I'm looking forward to reading through some of the posts to see what others have done and hopefully learn a few tricks to make future projects easier and the end results more professional looking.

post-58647-0-26707400-1422419425_thumb.j

Folks from Alabama are sure creative. lol.

Great job and sure you will enjoy using your creation.

Nothing but fun.

God Bless.

Ray