srtboise

First Attempt At Carving Leather

I'm working on a project for my wife and she wanted a very specific theme tooled into an accent piece of leather. She wants a dragonfly on a flower. I have never tooled/carved leather before so here is my first attempt...

This started as my first few test cuts with a swivel knife and it evolved into this. This is completely free hand, no pattern was used.

post-36904-0-40624100-1381529949_thumb.j

This is my first try at a flower. I used a pattern I found online that I modified slightly.

post-36904-0-66741600-1381536326_thumb.j

Here is my first attempt at the entire theme. I thought it was going rather well until I overworked the dragonfly's head and lost too much detail. I am calling this another practice piece.

post-36904-0-64865200-1381536358_thumb.j

I would love some feedback and criticism as I would like to learn from those more experienced than myself.

Thanks

steve

Steve,