Sign in to follow this  
ClayB

Whitetail deer

Here are a couple pictures of my second attempt at Robb's whitetail deer. I did this with his pattern and instructions off a video. As with everything I do, I can see room for improvement but I am fairly happy with this one. Now it will go on a shelf with the bear that I am scared to try and color for fear of ruining it.

Clay

robb_barr_deer__schoonover_horse__burnett_ram_016__Small_.jpg

robb_barr_deer__schoonover_horse__burnett_ram_006__Small_.jpg

post-12-1153790462_thumb.jpg

post-12-1153790484_thumb.jpg

Well, I finally did it. I colored the deer. For me, that is always a scary thing to start, and such a relief if I don't have to throw it away when I am finished. Coloring has been the hardest thing for me to learn to do. I am still learning, but think I am getting the hang of it. I owe a lot of thanks to a lot of people. Jan Schoonover, Silva Fox and Bob Beard have taught me so much. Silva and Bob both have videos out that are really worth getting if you want to learn to use acrylics on leather. Last time I talked to Jan he was thinking about making a video, but I haven't heard if he ever got it done. Also, if you ever get a chance to take a class from one of these people, or anyone else, I really encourage you to do it.

This deer was done off a video by Robb Barr. I have done a few of the projects off of his videos now and so far they have all turned out pretty good. I have found his carving and embossing instructions to be really good. He goes through the coloring pretty fast in some of these. I am not sure how I would have done on that part without some of the other lessons I have taken. I am looking forward to getting some time to start another one.

Clay

leather_pictures_024__Small_.jpg

leather_pictures_021__Small_.jpg

post-12-1157938271_thumb.jpg

post-12-1157938532_thumb.jpg

Edited by ClayB