Slimcut22

Custom Leather Fire Helmet Shields

I have been making custom leather fire helmet shields for a few months now, any feedback is appreciated. We call our little business Big Hammer Shields, because sometimes it takes a big hammer to make them!

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

post-32071-0-72788600-1392783606_thumb.j

post-32071-0-88915600-1392783632_thumb.j

post-32071-0-06993200-1392783662_thumb.j

post-32071-0-65967800-1392783683_thumb.j

post-32071-0-42436200-1392783730_thumb.j

post-32071-0-09369200-1392783744_thumb.j

Hello slimcut

I too make helmet shields although i havent posted any pictures in a while. Your work looks top notch. Very unique desigin. I especially like the chiefs shield. The tooling with ths paint really gives an authentic gold leaf feel. Keep up the good work!

Very cool! And nice work!

Very nice. Any chance you would share a full size outline? Son in law is a Firefighter/EMT/Rescue down in Florida and I would love to put one together for him.

I've always wondered how guys paint the lettering so cleanly. what's the trick?

Never seen that before very nice.

Very nice work! Frenchy07 I can send you an outline of my shields if you don't get a response.

Much appreciated bwillielv. PM sent.

Those look sharp! I've been messing around with a few myself and have a few different templates I would be willing to share.

Slimcut22, I had someone approach me today about making a white shield. I haven't done a white one yet. Would you mind enlightening me on the process? I was gonna try white angelus paint and resoline on top. Any help would be appreciated

Schultzt I have made quite a few white shields. I just make sure the leather is very clean, use the deglazer, and roll on the Angelus paint with a 2" foam roller. I usually use 3 coats, and then at least 2 coats of the Angelus paint finisher. And I always finish with a wax or shoe polish

Thanks for the reply. I will let you know how it turns out.