Sign in to follow this  
salvi

Floral Tooling

This is my 4th. project. I started leathercrafting just three weeks ago so this is only another excercise to improve my tooling technique. First pic has been taken after carving, beveling and backgrounding. No finish or oil has been applied yet to the veg tan.

post-19800-021723500 1301672509_thumb.jp

post-19800-068468000 1301672523_thumb.jp

Edited by salvi

Very Nice!! I'm just beginning, too...I wish my first stuff looked that good!

That looks great! I am just starting out, too. Yours looks so clean and sharp!

For someone tooling for only three weeks, you are doing one helluva job. The main thing I would point out to you at this point is to work on your beveling, making it smoother, and not leaving "tracks. While beveling, maintain the roundness of your curves, ie the petals of your flowers so they don't have somewhat pointy tops. The rest will come with time and practice, and at the rate you are progressing, I can't imagine what you will be doing in a year. Something that may be of benefit for you is one of Al Stohlman's books on proper tool use. He was a master at explaining things in a manner that made sense. Good job,

Terry

Wow... I went to a class for basic tooling two weeks ago. I need to find some floral patters with common items in them to work on. From there I could work on the craft and lead into the design of my own stuff. I dont have a real big need to floral but it would be nice for gun holsters and such..... Keep working on it. Chris at Tandy say the second design would 100% better than the first, and the third 100% better than the 2nd...etc. I have done three pieces so far and they are getting better....

This is my 4th. project. I started leathercrafting just three weeks ago so this is only another excercise to improve my tooling technique. First pic has been taken after carving, beveling and backgrounding. No finish or oil has been applied yet to the veg tan.

[/qu o