Sign in to follow this  
SmilinJim

daughter wants a keycase with Tigger

My daughter wants a keycase with Tigger, a Disney character, on it. Is it legal for me to carve such a case? And then is it legal to post a picture of the case? I know in real life I could carve her a case and probably several others for 'family' members and never have a real problem. But by posting a picture it becomes available to 'the copyright police', for want of a better term. Inquiring minds want to know.

Jim

Disney tends to be fairly strict on their characters.

What you would be doing, would probably be considered fan art. And as such, you would more than likely be ok.

If you were selling merchandise with Disney characters, that would be an obvious no no.

To me, the answer is going to fall into the "should" category. I don't think you would have an issue with Disney. But I'm not a trademark lawyer :)

- Noel

Yeah, same here, I'm not a lawyer... but I think the key issue is whether you are caught trying to sell items with copyrighted artwork, without documented permission.

Kate

I know a fellow who got in a lot of trouble making/selling items with art from the Pern novels. Personally, I'd make the item for my daughter, if it were me, but I wouldn't post a pic on the 'net of it.

My thoughts too. I have no intentions of selling any works like that. It's a one only. But just can't show the end results, and that might be a good thing too. I need practice.

Keep on Smilin

Jim