BobE

Bottle sheath - new to leather

I've never worked with leather before, but I got the idea to cover a half pint sized glass whiskey bottle with it. I'd like to be able to easily remove the empty bottle and replace it with a fresh one using a flap or maybe an open bottom.

I'd like a nice snug fit, it needs to fit in a pocket. I've seen knife sheaths that are kinda shrink wrapped. What is that called, and how is it done?

Also I'm not sure how to join the leather. I was thinking of beveled edges and adhesive, or maybe laces. Is there a better way?

If you have any thoughts, ideas, comments or advice I'd like to read it.

:bike:

Edited by BobE

Bob, Welcome to Leatherworker.net. This forum is a wonderful place, as you'll find, and we're very happy you found us.

Now...as to the bottle sheath. Shrink wrapping as you call it is usually called 'molding'. There's a few ways to do it, but I think that wet molding is perhaps the easiest. I make a few holsters here and there, and that's where my experience comes from.

Trace the outline of the bottle onto a piece of paper. This is your pattern. You didn't indicate whether this will be one piece of leather, joined on one side and folded on the other, or two pieces, with the bottle sandwiched between. I'll presume the latter, but if it's a folded piece, simply trace the leather, then flip the bottle on the paper so you have both faces and the width of the bottle accounted for.

Now, add 3/8"-1/2" for stitching/lacing/riveting, but only to the edge(s) you'll be joining. If you're sandwiching the bottle between two pieces, remember to allow for the neck of the bottle. If it's an irregluar shape (not symmetrical) remember to flip your pattern on the leather.